h1

V7 classic good for cross country or long distance?

March 24, 2010

Wildgoose quote of the day. Flashman on the V7C as a touring wonder:

I think the V7C is ideal for long distance riding and touring, if you want a simple, naked bike. I’ve put just over 13,000 km on mine this season, including a 1500km ~ 950 mile road trip and plenty of 1000km weekends.The return 1500km trip I did in one shot, a nice long 16 hour day on the bike. Although tiring, it certainly wasn’t painful or much of a challenge, to which I credit the bike’s eminent comfort and rideability. The only modifications I’ve made are to add a cut down Breva windscreen trimmed to about an inch above the support brackets, clubman bars and bar – end mirrors. The riding position is very very comfortable, and the bike handles long, 130kph days no problem. I’d say it’s also ideal for touring because it’s a true naked motorcycle – no radio, GPS, built in hard luggage or trunks, etc. Nothing but the very simple essence of motorcycling. For myself, that’s what I prefer, and love the V7C precisely because all you can do on it is ride. Throw on some saddle bags, a tank bag and a seat bag, and I can get 150 liters of storage no problem, and the weight is hardly noticeable. The fact that you can do the vast majority of maintenance yourself with standard tools is another bonus – valve timing, oil changes, etc, are all too easy on this bike.I’m already looking forward to another 13 000km next season. This is a great bike that doesn’t dissappoint. The criticisms about the bike’s power are garbage – it’ll top out at an honest 170kph measured on a handheld GPS, and has plenty of pull.

2 comments

  1. I’m really happy to see that others found the SB enjoyful for extended touring too! 🙂


  2. Well I’m still quite happy the new V7 got some attention. Always wonder why the Little Breva didn’t? It’s just such a great all rounder!



Leave a comment