h1

Guzzi’ing!

January 31, 2010

Bill Hagan on Guzzi’ing:

I find motorcycling more “thrilling” with time. That may be because I occasionally think about how many more weekends I have left in life in which I will be physically able to ride. That is a sobering figure, especially if you factor out weather and other things that keep me from riding every week.

Aside from my (almost) daily commute on the E(xxon)V(aldez), and which I try to stretch at least once a week into an hour’s romp, I am now planning on three big rides in May and June. [Note: Russ, when I say “big rides,” I am not putting those in the category of your Prudhoe Bay excursion!]. Hoping to be part of small group rides to Luap’s in May, the “South’n Spine Raid” in early June, and a run to the Virginia rally later that same month. Unnecessary planning for that keeps me happy, and as those dates near, I get near giddy … Kathi would say insufferable.

The best part is that I don’t get that Peggy Lee feeling in any sort of anticlimatic way. There is no letdown for me. I enjoy the rides and the camaraderie that comes with those as much as I had anticipated, and possibly more. And, while there is some disappointment in return [ Kathi, if you are reading this, I am talking to guys and don’t mean I am not THRILLED to be back home and you! Wink ], there is always the fun of gathering the photos, adding captions, and posting too many of those for others.

At risk of sounding like one of those syrupy angel things Kathi’s friends love to forward, I read once that only three things are essential: “Something to do, Something to look forward to And Someone to love.”

You and I are blessed with the last; I’m quite happy in Guzzi’ing; I’m thinking you need to take up hanggliding.

via Mostly for the gray-haired crowd here, a question with indirect GC.

Leave a comment